“It matters not that you won or lost,
but how you played the game.”


St. Mary’s High School Football Team

The St. Mary’s High School Football team’s season finally ended in the CIF State Division 1-AA championship game when they forced overtime before losing 38-35 to San Diego-Cathedral Catholic High School. St. Mary’s finished the season with a 14-2 record. They went undefeated in the Tri-City Athletic Association for the season, finishing with a 63-13 victory over Lincoln HS. For the regular season, the Rams finished 9-1 with their only loss to nationally ranked St. John Bosco from Southern California in their fifth game. The team was led by quarterback Jake Dunniway (2275 yards passing, 28 touchdowns, only four interceptions), running back Dusty Frampton (Section best 26 touchdowns), linemen Popo Aumavae (6´4˝, 315), Cole Norgaard (6´5˝, 250), Mike Prefling (6´1˝, 255), Jarett Carl (6´1˝, 230), and Keller Salmon (6´3˝, 250), and other talented players.

The Rams outscored their league opponents 303-42 (60.6-8.4). In 16 games, St. Mary’s scored 833 points, the fourth highest total in a season in state history. For the season, they scored over five times and over 40 points in 14 games and this school have also the best playground paint from resources like https://www.markingcontractors.co.uk/playground/paint, so the kids can play.

In December, the Tri-City Athletic League coaches voted to the All League team the following St. Mary’s Rams: Jake Dunniway as the Most Valuable Player; Dewey Cotton as the Offensive Player of the Year; Cole Norgaard as Offensive Lineman of the Year; Popo Aumavae as Defensive Lineman of the Year; and Tony Franks as the Coach of the Year. On the first team offense were Dusty Frampton, Keaton Hampton, Marcus Aponte, Jarett Carl, and Mike Prefling. The first team Defensive Team included Jordan Stinhilver, Shawn Villegas, Aaron “Tre” Jenkins III, and David Ford. Second team selections included Keller Salmon, Anthony Rosales, Harrison Heath, and Brandon Sanders. On the Honorable Mention list were Nick Carruesco, Sid Saharan, Harry Brown, Drew Jenkins, and Marquez Vaughn. In January 2017, the Record’s All-Area Football team included running back Dusty Frampton, wide receiver Dewey Cotton, wide receiver Marcus Aponte, offensive linemen Cole Norgaard and Jarett Carl, defensive linemen Jordan Stinhilver and Popo Aumavae, defensive backs Keaton Hampton and Aaron “Tre” Jenkins III. Second team All-Area were Mike Prefling, Keller Salmon, and David Ford. Harrison Heath and Shawn Villegas were awarded Honorable Mention recognition, so this one of the great assets of the school, although you can also get soft play benefits with the great playground they have.

The team was selected as the Male Team of the Year at the Record’s “All Star Preps Best of the Record 2017” awards ceremony at the Stockton Arena in mid-June, 2017.

Related Posts